Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
SAAC Award Winners - Josh Reding and Women's Swimming & Diving - named Play of the Year & Kyle Fitzgerald - Iron Athlete of the Year.

2019-20 Alfred State SAAC Awards

The Alfred State Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) established end of year awards last year. Recently, SAAC nominated and voted for the Play of the Year and the Iron Athlete of the Year.

2019-20 SAAC Award Video

The Play of the Year voting was tied between Matteo Avallone and the Women's Swimming & Diving team. 

  • In the 6th inning of game two vs. Skidmore in Ft. Myers, FL, the Pioneers trailed 2-0 and had been held to just one hit. In the 6th, Connor Pingitore singled, Justin LoTemple walked, and Samuel Dickerson loaded the bases with a single. Matteo Avallone stepped up and drilled a 1-0 offering deep over the center field fence to give Alfred State the lead for good.
  • The women's swimming & diving team held a 11-point lead heading into the final event of the four-day AMCC Championships and the 400 free relay team of Veronica Boller, Elizabeth Furmanski, Kelsey Lynch, and Hannah Snayczuk finished 7th (4:05.31) in the championship final while the relay team Mikaela Snayczuk, Alina Kisluk, Payton Armstrong, and Sarah Stevens finished 14th overall after swimming in the consolation final. The finishes were enough to hold on to the lead to claim the title - the first AMCC title in school history.

Play of the Year Nominees: Matteo Avallone - grand slam vs. Skidmore, Josh Reding - game-tying 3-pointer vs. Houghton, Volleyball - set point in a 3-1 win over Medaille, Rylie Van Fleet - 75-yard punt return for a score in a come-from-behind win over Maritime, and Women's Swimming & Diving - Winning the AMCC Championship, the first AMCC title for Alfred State.

Kyle Fitzgerald was named the Iron Athlete of the Year. Fitzgerald was injured early in the season. He rehabbed and returned to the mat. He finished 3rd at the ECWC Championships and wrestled at the NCAA Mideast Regionals.

Iron Athlete of the Year Nominees: Ryan Gentile - basketball, Trevor Aldrich - soccer, Dashown Wilson - football, Mac Congdon - soccer, Kyle Fitzgerald - wrestling, and Jake Wadsworth - track & field.