Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Pioneers Crowned E8 and AMCC Champs. Earn Individual Honors. Mariotti Named Coach of the Year

Pioneers Crowned E8 and AMCC Champs. Earn Individual Honors. Mariotti Named Coach of the Year

After four long days of competing at the 2023 AMCC / Empire 8 Swimming and Diving Championships, the Pioneer Men's Swimming and Diving team were crowned champions of both conferences. The Pioneers defeated the field with 1,181.50 points, over 300 more points than second place.

In the four-day meet, the Pioneers have been all over the Alfred State and meet record books. Individual AMCC and Empire 8 awards were also received by the Pioneers.

Westin Perry was named AMCC and Empire 8 Swimmer of the Meet. Diver Conor Compton was named AMCC and Empire 8 Diver of the Meet and Newcomer of the Meet for the AMCC.

Head Coach Isabel Mariotti won AMCC and Empire 8 Coach of the Year for Women's Swimming and Diving.

In tonight's events:

Avenn Toledo competed in the 1650 free and placed second with a time of 16:44.38.

Rafael Kowal competed in the 200 back and placed second. Kowal finished with a time of 1:53.94, only 8 tenths of a second behind first place.

Westin Perry competed in the 100 free and placed first. Perry finished in 45.56 seconss, over half a second quicker than second place.

Kellen Fletcher competed in the 200 fly and placed third. Fletcher finished with a time of 1:53.52.

The Pioneer team of Westin Perry, Kellen Fletcher, Luca Aldewereld and Jazz Widney finished their season as a relay strong. The team competed in the 400 free and won by over 6 seconds. Perry, Fletcher, Aldewereld and Widney finished in 3:04.27.

Conor Compton took part in the 1M Dives and won by 30 points over second place. Compton's score of 488.95 made him undefeated at the meet and earned him the all-conference honors.

This is the second time the Pioneers have been crowned both AMCC and Empire 8 conference champions in the program's short NCAA history. This is the first time that both the men and women's teams were crowned AMCC champions in the same year.