Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Pioneers Place 2nd at CSAC Championships

Pioneers Place 2nd at CSAC Championships

The Alfred State Men's Track and Field team scored a total of 196 points and placed 2nd in the CSAC.

The Pioneers captured 7 individual conference championships and 5 individual athletes earned CSAC All-Conference honors.

Dylan Perlino was named the CSAC Field Athlete of the year and Nick Florczak was named the CSAC Newcomer of the year.

The individual wins came from:
Derek Walter in the 400m hurldles. Walter has now been named conference champion in the event 3 straight years. This year, Walter finished with a time of 56.21 seconds.

Eddie Scroxton raced and won the 800m event with a time of 1:57.70 seconds.

Dylan Perlino was dominant all weekend. Perlino won the discus, hammer throw and shot put events. In the shot put, Perlino's best attempt was 14.59m. In the discus it was 51.53m and in the hammer throw, Perlino set a new meet record with a throw of 55.06m. 

Jesse Johnson competed and won in the high jump with a best attempt of 1.96m. 

Zach Rudewicz-Nepokroeff won the long jump by 1-tenth of a meter at 6.80m. 

All-Conference honorees were named for top-3 finishes in their respective events:

Nick Florczak finished in third place in the 100m and 2nd place in the 200m.

Shawn Rosa -finished in 2nd place and qualified for the AARTFC in the 400m.

Brian Clark finished just behind Rosa in the 400m in 3rd place.

Kyle Brown finished in 3rd place in the 400m hurdles.

The Pioneers 4x100m relay finished in 2nd place with a time of 43.12. The team consisted of Florczak, Rudewicz-Nepocroeff, Rosa and Esaias Brumfield.

Alfred State's 4x400m relay  team finished in 2nd place as well, with a time of 3:25.75. Derek Walter, Brian Clark, Jacob Rightmyer and Shawn Rosa made up the Alfred State team.

Jesse Johnson was 3rd place in the long jump.

James Olson was 2nd place in the shot put event and 3rd place in the hammer throw. In the shot put, Olson was only 1/2 a meter behind teammate Perlino's attempt.

The Pioneer team will head to Allegheny on May 11, to continue their outdoor season ahead of the AARTFC event.