Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Swim and Dive AMCC Champs. Receive Individual Honors. Mariotti Named Co-Coach of The Year.

Swim and Dive AMCC Champs. Receive Individual Honors. Mariotti Named Co-Coach of The Year.

After four long days of competing at the 2023 AMCC / Empire 8 Swimming and Diving Championships, the Pioneer Women's Swimming and Diving team were crowned champions of the AMCC. The Pioneers scored a total of 831 team points. Defeating rival Penn.- St,. Behrend by one point.

In the four-day meet, the Pioneers have been all over the Alfred State and meet record books. Individual AMCC awards were also dominated by the Pioneers. Alyssa James was voted the AMCC Swimmer of the meet. Anna Ivery was voted AMCC newcomer of the meet.

Head Coach Isabel Mariotti won AMCC Co-Coach of the Year for Women's Swimming and Diving.

After 38 events, the first-place trophy came down to the last relay. The Pioneers were behind Penn.- St. Behrend by three points in the team score.

A second-place finish in the 400 free relay by Madison Snayczuk, Mikaela Snayczuk, Mallory O'Keefe and Anna Ivery secured the AMCC trophy for the Pioneers. Their time of 3:38.36 bested Behrend by four seconds and was only .36 seconds behind first place Nazareth, who went on to win the Empire 8 Championship.

In tonight's events:

Mallory O'Keefe competed in the grueling 1650 free for the Pioneers and placed 3rd with a time of 18:41.61.

Alyssa James placed 3rd in the 200-backstroke final with a time of 2:11.11.

Madison Snayczuk won the 100 free for the Pioneers with a time of 53.92.

Mikaela Snayczuk placed third in the 200 breast with a time of 2:30.67. She was only 4 seconds behind the 1st place swimmer from Hartwick.

Emma Merrick placed 4th in the 200 fly with a time of 2:22.76.

This is the second time being crowned conference champions in the program's short NCAA and AMCC history. This is the first time that both the men and women's teams were crowned champions in the same year.