Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Athlete of the Year Team Announced

The 2019-20 Alfred State Athlete of the Year Team

The Alfred State Athletic Department unveiled the 2019-20 Athlete of the Year Team. These student-athletes have made a large impact on their specific team and the athletic department while exhibiting good character this school year.

Athlete of the Year Team Video

Andrew Santobuono: Baseball

Santobuono was 3-1 in four starts and 28.2 inning of work. He had a 1.57 ERA, struck out 21 and walked only three. He was the winning pitcher as the Pioneers defeated their first Top 25 ranked opponent.

Jordyn Pettit: Basketball

Pettit was named 2nd team All-AMCC after leading the Pioneers in scoring and rebounding. She scored 375 points and grabbed 268 total rebounds. On the year she had 12 double-doubles.

Jake Wadsworth: Track & Field

Wadsworth made school history as he became the first Pioneer to qualify for the NCAA DIII National Championships. He won the AARTFC Championship in the heptathlon with 4,951 points which sets a new school record and was 10th best in the country. He was named USTFCCCA All-Mideast Region in three events (heptathlon, long jump, and 200 m)

Kiara Perkins: Volleyball

Perkins started in all 24 matches this year and registered a career best 237 kills and 268 digs. She also 46 service aces.

Dashown Wilson: Football

Wilson was a 2nd team All-ECFC selection after leading the team with 733 rushing yards and 11 scores on top of passing for 1,462 yards and another 14 touchdowns. He was 2nd in the ECFC in scoring, total rushing yards, and 3rd in passing yardage.

Alyssa Beardsley: Western Equestrian

Beardsley continued to be one of the top riders in the region. She was the reserve high point rider in both open horsemanship and open reining at the IHSA Zone 2 Region I Championships and qualified for the semifinals.

Ryan Gentile: Basketball

Gentile started in all 25 games and led the Pioneers with 414 points and 62 made three-pointers. He averaged 16.6 points per game for the season and 17.8 in conference play, which ranked 3rd in AMCC play.

Mikaela Snayczuk: Swimming & Diving

Snayczuk swam to 1st team All-AMCC honors in two individual honors and two relays. She was also 2nd team All-AMCC in another relay as the team won the AMCC title.

AJ Soto: Lacrosse

Soto was the team leader for the lacrosse team in their shortened season. He scored the lone goal of the year and capped a stellar career with 58 goals and 34 assists.

Arianna Traugott: Softball

Traugott hit .407 with three doubles and 2 RBI in nine games this year. She also earned three wins on the mound in 21.2 innings of work.

Ade Adesanya: Soccer

Adesanya moved away from his traditional forward this position and played mostly defense for the Pioneers. He finished the year with goals and an assist and finished his career with 16 points.

Angela Martone: Soccer

Martone started in all 15 games and scored a goal and passed out an assist from her midfield position. Was named to the AMCC All-Sportsmanship Team.

Westin Perry: Swimming & Diving

Perry swam to 1st team All-AMCC honors in three events and to 2nd team honors in two other events. He also etched his name all over the NCAA era record book.